County Dublin Vocational Education Committee

County Dublin VEC is one of the largest Vocational Education Committees in the country. The Committee is constituted under the Vocational Education Act, passed by Dáil and Seanad Eireann in 1930. At the inception of Vocational Education Committees, County Dublin was characterised as a rural region. However from the 1970s, acute demographic change in Dublin City and County led to increasing urbanisation in the form of new towns and suburbs in areas previously characterised as rural and agricultural. In response to this development, County Dublin VEC expanded rapidly to meet the demands and challenges of new populations. Furthermore, since the 1980s the evolving areas of Adult Education and Life Long Learning have presented new programmes and opportunities. The administrative area covered by the VEC reaches from Balbriggan in North County Dublin, to Dundrum in South County Dublin and Lucan in West County Dublin , it is unique in that it covers three Local Authority areas, Fingal, South Dublin and Dun Loaghaire / Rathdown County with the exception of the old borough of Dun Laoghaire.